Notices

Replacing a T3/T4 ebay turbo

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2010, 09:07 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing a T3/T4 ebay turbo

Hello guys, I'm fairly new to turbochargers and if this has been asked before I apologize, but I've done a week's worth of research and I can keep this short.

I've bought a B18B1 equipped 94 del sol, and the turbo kit seems to be quality brand and manufacture, but the original turbo was replaced with a cheap one that's starting to go.

To replace the cheap ebay turbo, do I just need to look for a T3/T4 turbo made by a reputable company, and I can be confident it will bolt up? Or are there more specifics I need to look at to ensure that it will bolt up properly and run with my system? The current turbo is set to 6psi, and I'm looking at something similar with the new one.

Thanks for your help, and I apologize if I've missed something. I've read the faqs and tried to research as much as I can, but there's a point where I need to verify what I think I know against someone who DOES know.

Thanks!
Old 10-17-2010, 09:15 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Replacing a T3/T4 ebay turbo

You can buy a rebuild kit. Do you know what size the turbine is? T3/T4 is a pretty vague answer. Also, 6psi on one turbo could be 15 psi on another. More information about your current setup would help us out
Old 10-17-2010, 09:23 AM
Honda-Tech Member

No rebuild kit, it's a cheap turbo, like I said.

T3/T4, according to everything I've read, IS the size, is it not? A T3 turbine with a T4 compressor?

Isn't that the size of the turbine?

I have an external wastegate that's set to 6 pounds, so it's going to be set to 6 regardless.

If you need more information on setup, you're going to have to tell me what. That's why I'm here, I don't know exactly what I need to know to replace this thing. I was told that knowing it was a T3/T4 was enough, but I'm not sure about that.

Thanks.
Old 10-17-2010, 11:07 AM
Honda-Tech Member