Notices

Questions about Garrett .42/.48 on a honda

Old 11-30-2009, 11:41 PM
$cat /dev/urandom

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Questions about Garrett .42/.48 on a honda

I just bought a brand new garrett .42/.48 turbo from a guy on H-T, and i have some questions about it, given I am a newb to FI in some respects.

First, I have some pictures to go along with my questions down below:

O2 housing that came with the turbo, w/ wastegate flap:

2. The cold side:

3. hot side:

4. The strange exhaust manifold flange:

5. Water Cooled?

6. Other side of water cooling?

7. .42 AR cold side

8. .48 AR hot side:

1.: This turbo is clearly set up for some sort of stock vehicle. Any guesses as to what?

2. the exhaust manifold flange in #4 looks decidedly non standard. Am i correct in this assumption, and if so, is this a common issue, and is there an adapter or do people make manifolds that fit this layout? What is this style of flange called, if anything?

3. The wastegate situation.. I would much rather use a external wastegate, but does that mean i need to be plugging the hole on the hot side if i am not going to use the o2 housing, or are there 5 bolt manifolds that account for this issue?

4. I have been reading up on water & oil turbos, and have read that it can be run without the water. I don't recall seeing many hondas running this style of turbo, so can i just omit the water and plug the holes and run oil only, or are there examples of hooking up a honda to use the water cooling system in some way?

5. Am i going to need an oil restrictor plate or is it good to just run a -3AN line from a oil filter sandwich plate to it, or is this also a nonstandard setup?

I plan to run this on a completely stock block d16a6 looking for around 200 whp, and I have been looking at a Spoolin Performance tubular log manifold/downpipe kit, but i am worried about the exhaust flange and the "sorta" internal wastegate situation. any thoughts??

Thanks for the help