Notices

Odd build, need help w/ timing belt size

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2007, 07:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Odd build, need help w/ timing belt size

sup guys, i need some help figuring out what size belts i will need for this build i have. this motor was thrown together by the spare stuff i had laying around the garage so bare with me. the main info on the setup...
-b16 head type r valevetrain
-ls block
-gsr crank

any ideas? this is my first actual build from the ground up, so im still learning. i tried to search but i couldnt find much with a ls block and gsr crank.
Old 07-02-2007, 08:08 AM
Mr. Badwrench

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Odd build, need help w/ timing belt size (bnut510)

ls block, should mean ls belt, but if i remember, that is depicted by that water pump. i would do an ls pump and an ls belt.
Old 07-02-2007, 08:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

GSR belts, assuming a VTEC water pump. LS block is the same height as any other B18 block.
Old 07-02-2007, 08:11 AM

Default Re: Odd build, need help w/ timing belt size (rmcdaniels)

yes its with a gsr waterpump. ok so is it ls or gsr hahaha. i need help! thanks for the replies
Old 07-02-2007, 08:16 AM
Honda-Tech Member

GSR pump = GSR belt

LS pump = LS belt

That said, use the GSR pump if you're using the GSR crank, the LS pump is meant for lower RPM applications.
Old 07-02-2007, 08:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by rmcdaniels &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">GSR pump = GSR belt

LS pump = LS belt

That said, use the GSR pump if you're using the GSR crank, the LS pump is meant for lower RPM applications.</TD></TR></TABLE>

X2

nothing odd bout this build... its been done a million times
Old 07-02-2007, 08:21 AM

use matching water pump and timing belt. ls pump=ls belt gsr pump=gsr belt