Notices

New to turbo, car is over heating.....

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2005, 07:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to turbo, car is over heating.....

Well I'm new to the turbo thing and just got a gsr hatch turboed. the problem i'm having is that the car is overheating too fast. When most of you guys turbo your hatches do you change/upgrade your radiators? Obviously the intercooler is blocking the radiator so it is not cooling like it should. Should i put an integra radiator on or is there something else i am missing.

ANY help is appreciated.
Old 07-21-2005, 07:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: New to turbo, car is over heating..... (EXACCORD95)

your stock civic radiator should be okay... are your fans working? does your thermostat switch work?
Old 07-22-2005, 08:24 PM

Default Re: New to turbo, car is over heating..... (SHystrdyGSRtdy)

fans are working, it's really weird it seems to only overheat when at higher speeds. Highway speeds, etc. Around town it has no problem.
Old 07-22-2005, 09:33 PM
Honda-Tech Member

i'm having the same problem in my 91 hatch, i converted to a half size and it was overheating today after a while on the highway.
Old 07-22-2005, 09:52 PM
Honda-Tech Member

if u have an aftermaket fan, make sure that it is turning the right direction... when the fan turns on , it should blow air towards the motor or maybe u have air in the system.
Old 07-22-2005, 10:21 PM

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by EXACCORD95 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">fans are working, it's really weird it seems to only overheat when at higher speeds. Highway speeds, etc. Around town it has no problem.</TD></TR></TABLE>

same here! bump for info
Old 07-23-2005, 12:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: New to turbo, car is over heating..... (dfwtx)