Notices

New to the FI scene, few questions on future build, looking for 500+

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2007, 08:30 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to the FI scene, few questions on future build, looking for 500+

Hey guys, I'm new to the FI section over here. I've been a diehard N/A guy but it's time to broaden my horizons. A little background on my old setup which I'll still be using some parts from was a 85x89 Dart block, Eagle LW crank, RLZ B16 head (AMAZING!), TWM ITB's yada yada yada...

I'm looking to build the longblock and get it all broken in before I go to build the turbo setup, but I've been looking to use a GT4088R turbo with a split scroll manifold. I'm going to do more research and look into this more and more as I go. I need to get the bottom end and head squared away first.

I'm going to be retaining the Dart block from my old setup. It's already at 85mm, but the piston to wall was at N/A specs so I SHOULD be able to keep the 85mm with some light boring/honing.

The Eagle LW crank I was using seems to have been giving me the fits, when I pulled it out the thrust bearing were chewed up on the flywheel side. When I assembled the engine my bearing clearnaces were all identical, end play was within spec and run out was perfect but that's a whole nother story here. Now the question is should I keep the Eagle or should I go with an OEM Honda crank. My tuner (blundar on here) and I were talking tonight about a possible long rod engine, B16 crank with the Dart block, a 1.9L. Basically a high rev long powerband setup. How would this run compared to a GSR or LS crank setup? Just something we talked about.