Notices

lsv turbo questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2013, 04:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 73 Likes on 61 Posts
Default lsv turbo questions

Let me start this by saying I have been building and racing cars for 13 years now. I have been big into hondas for about 7 years. I have done just about every N/A combo possible out there, from stock d's motors just tuned to stroked h2b's. I got out of the game for myself for about 2 years to focus on my 700 HP big block barracuda. Meanwhile I've been driving a boring d16y7 for about a year. Wishing it had more... I came across an old LSV I built years ago, and picked it up for a great price.
I was planning on doing a mild build, of pistons, rods (life cycle is high on them), new cams and valve train. The head was professionally ported and polished and has epoxied intake runners. Badazz head.

Started thinking maybe I should do something different for me, a turbo maybe.
That is why I am here.

I have done tons of research, and I wont be sleeving it- not going to put that kind of money into a LS block. So my power goals are modest- 250-275. I see a TON of builds about what to do, and what not to do. But I haven't seen people come back to talk about how it has lasted. Heck, most of the build threads are never finished. LOL.

Do these LSV's last at this moderate power level? I am interested in your budget lsv build- and how many miles you have gotten out of it. Along with what problems you have encountered along the way.
Old 01-20-2013, 04:58 PM
DO IT ON ALL FOURS

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: lsv turbo questions

When you say pistons and rods, do you mean forged?