Notices

low hanging turbo oil drain line

Old 10-11-2014, 02:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default low hanging turbo oil drain line

does anyone see a problem or solution with my oil drain line to me it seems to low Name:  nfgiVqY.jpg
Views: 599
Size:  695.0 KB
Old 10-11-2014, 03:15 PM
Ferio Wdm Edition

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: low hanging turbo oil drain line

Whats wrong with it? It does look a bit low, if you hit your oil pan, that fitting has more of a chance to get messed up as well.
Old 10-11-2014, 03:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I have very little experience with turbos in general but I'm hoping that the turbo will drain properly with this configuration, because the manifold sits the turbo so low
Edit: i havnt started the car yet with the turbo on because i really only wanna do this once, but this is the only feasable way for me to clock center housing without buying a new manifold
Old 10-11-2014, 03:43 PM
I never narc'd on nobody!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Oil is supposed to fall out of the drain line into the pan. The way you have that set up, it's going to be pooling in the line. Should have welded it higher, but with how low your turbo sits, you couldn't have really welded it any higher and still had a down-sloping line. You're kind of stuck in a catch-22 - either the return is too low in the pan, but the line has an OK slope, or the return is in a good spot, but the line doesn't have a good enough slope.
Old 10-11-2014, 04:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Ya thats what ive been reading kinda not sure the best plan of action at this point a new manifold is out of the budget as i cant aforrd a couple other necessities, but surely the guy who hadthe manifold before me made it work some how.. Any one see a solution with keeping the manifold?
Old 10-11-2014, 05:07 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by freeagent