Notices

just started my turbo for the first time. couple of problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2007, 10:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just started my turbo for the first time. couple of problems

hey whats up FI guys. im new to the turbocharging stuff, but i just installed my drag gen 3 turbo in my 95 LS. Everything is stock in the engine besides the kit now. im having several problems getting the car to run right.

- when i first started it, it idled fine for about 2 minutes. now the idle fluctuates from 400-800 rpm. i have upgraded to NGK spark plugs.

- also, there is smoke coming out from my turbo when idling. it seems as if its coming from where the oil feed line is or the exhaust side of the turbo. do you guys think its the seals? it is a brand new turbo kit. i have not checked for oil in my pipes or anything yet due to it being hot.

- there is also a small leak of oil from either the oil pressure sensor or the oil filter. once it cools down, ill check it out.

help and suggestions are appreciated, TIA.
Old 06-26-2007, 12:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: just started my turbo for the first time. couple of problems (InTeGrA_bLazEd)

they ALL smoke when started up for the first time after installing. think of all the grease and handprints all over the stuff you put when installing. its burning that off.

if its BLUE smoke, thats oil tho! go over all your oil connections making sure they're all tight. hopefully its just a loose fitting, and your seals aren't shot (oil in pipes)
Old 06-26-2007, 01:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: just started my turbo for the first time. couple of problems (esedulerp5tenin)

oil restrictor? it's usually a must.
Old 06-26-2007, 02:15 PM