Notices

just installed greddy turbo runs super rich at idle after a while??? BLUE BOX????

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2003, 06:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just installed greddy turbo runs super rich at idle after a while??? BLUE BOX????

Hey guys, Im kinda new to the turbo world. just yesterday I finished installing my Greddy turbo kit on my d16z6 hatchie. I changed my head gasket, and water pump before the install for cheap insurance. I started the car up and it ran flawlessly. After about 10 minutes of Idling it started to idle really rough, almost like it was missing. I'm just wondering if this is a normal thing with a turbocharged vehicle. I also noticed my A/F meter was almost pegged out to the rich side when it was doing this.

I took it out for a quick drive and it seemed to bog out before the turbo would spool up and then it seemed to hesitate a little under boost. It just seems to be running really really rich. Is this normal????

Anyways I drove it around for a while and then came home and shut it down after about 3 minutes of idling. I took it back out on the road a couple of times to see if the problem would work its way out but it didnt seem to help.

The very last time I took it out last night, I drove it for about 20 minutes and then let it sit and idle for a while and it seemed to idle perfectly until after about 10 minutes then it went back it to a rich idle mode. What could be causing this?????

Also when i am under boost, my boost gauge quickly builds up to about 5.5psi and then drops off to about 4psi at high rpms. Is this normal???
Old 04-20-2003, 07:41 AM

Default Re: just installed greddy turbo runs super rich at idle after a while??? BLUE BOX???? (hondafrk)