Notices

Internal Wastegate vs. External Wastegate

Old 03-11-2006, 07:52 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Internal Wastegate vs. External Wastegate

Starting out i know this has already been covered and i searched for this but couldn't actually get the search to narrow it down to an argument between these two, so mods feel free to delete/lock this thread if this is something not needed and i apologize for posting this.

So, i'm new to the turbo scene, and i've been researching constalty for a while now, i just really wanna do a turbo setup just to get the feel and learn on the engineering of forced inductino setups, so making power isn't my priority here, mainly just to get a good grip on how to manage turbo's and just pretty much "HOW TO" basiscs on turbo's.

I've made countless number of things needed and lists, and researched online and found websites which will accomodate my low budget turbo build, (cheapturbo.com and such have a lot to offer.) and i've been all over homemadeturbo.com also, they've got a decent amount of resrouces for starters.

this is where i'm stuck, i cant seem to narrow it down to the fact WHICH is better an external wasteaget or internal wastegate. Upon my research the external wastegate is slightly easier to maintain and be easily swapped for different levels of boost...but then again i find a lot of people with both setups so pretty much what i'm asking is whats the advantage of having either one of these and for starters and not running a lot of boost on stock internals what should be the optimal choice for me. (running the turbo on an obd0 b16) so any insight and any help would be greatly appreciated and like i said before if anyone can point me in the direction of an already discussed topic pertaining to this one lemme know. thanks...
Old 03-11-2006, 09:22 AM
(banned)

Default Re: Internal Wastegate vs. External Wastegate (pr3d)

External
Old 03-11-2006, 09:38 AM
Mr. Badwrench

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts