Notices

how to tune the untunable!!!! blue box q's

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2003, 04:57 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to tune the untunable!!!! blue box q's

hey guys whats up,
I recently installed a greddy turbo kit with a greddy intercooler on my 92 hatchie with a d16z6, I was expecting some major improvements, Not ferrari like improvements but some. I was however sorely dissapointed. I was at the track a few weeks ago and was only able to run a best of 14.64@95 mph. I am running a greddy blue box for fuel managment and a stock dx gearbox on street tires.
I was pulling consistent 2.0 60 ft times however.

Now, Heres where you guys can help me, I hope! I am new to turbos therfore I dont know much about tuning a turbocharged car, How can you tune an untunable piece of equipment, (blue box)?
The moment my map sensor sees boost it sends my engine into, super rich, gas guzzling, so much fuel that it could almost put the fire out mode. Is this normal.
I mean it really doesnt feel that bad and I definitely did notice a big improvement over NA but It just doesnt feel right.

It seems to have no low end power and no top end power and lots of midrange muscle. from 1-3k it bogs like crazy then Oh shiznit hold on to your *** up to about 5.5k and then it feels like the power slowly goes away up to redline. Is this normal.

It seems like before I turbod it, it made decent low end power and great top end power. Its like the turbo only helps me from 3k to 5.5k, what gives. when the turbo spools up in 1st and 2nd gear it will break my tires loose, then when the rpms get up to about 5.5k it seems like i'm running NA.