Notices

Help me spend 1800 dollars...

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2004, 09:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me spend 1800 dollars...

The story goes like this... So I've been saving my money and collecting parts to turbo my car(dodge neon) for about 3 years now.(Im a poor college student) I'm getting closer, but the end seems so far away and yet soo close.(some of you know what I mean) I need to spend this 1800 to get me the furthest, yet not restrict my abilities to meet my goals (500+whp/10 second pass)

What I need to finish my car...

Pistons, rods, rings, block machine work, cylinder head valve job, surface, and assembly, Diamond racing 13" wheels($75EA), fuel line, and fuel line fittings, and then pay for my 600 dollar bill for OEM parts that go on the block.

So "AS I SEE" right now are... *suggestions welcome
A)Take the 1800 and buy: Used TiAL 40mm gate (275), metal for my new turbo manifold(200), And custom Forward Motion Billet Oliver rods that are lengthened, with custom JE pistons, and rings (1300) And then wait for this summer to get money to do the rest....

or

B) go buy a COMPLETE running 2.4L for (800), buy a used gate (275), make a new manifold(200), buy the 13" wheels (150), and buy the fuel **** I need(100), getting the LMA-2 for my LM1 wideband (100), and paying for dyno time and race gas...175(enough for an hour...should be enough)

C) buy eagle rods and JE pistons with rings(800), get machine work on block(300), buy stock gaskets and parts etc...(700) wait for money to make manifold and buy gate. (christmas gifts...maybe)

The downside to A is that I still dont have a car running.
The downside to B is that I still cant afford insurance...so track only :-D...and I'm limited to what my bottom end can handle, and if I blow it up Im right back where I started.