Notices

Help me figure out my LS Turbo

Old 11-25-2007, 06:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me figure out my LS Turbo

I read through the whole forum about LS Turbo motors on this site, very inspiring. Now I plan on building one of these bad boys this winter. I need some second opinions and some more advanced help from you pros. I'm new to this, but know what's involved and have done my research. So before I bore you with all my words, here's what I'm thinking:

Find older B18B1 head/block from Pick N Pull.
Rebuilt it with:
Some sort of Pistons (should I overbore it a bit? What compression is best?)
Eagle rods
Crower stage 2 turbo cams
New oem gaskets, seals, and bearings (should I not use oem?)
Arp head studs
Arp rod bolts
Polished crank (is this necessary?)

My goal is 250whp. I think I'm overdoing it with all these after market internals. Do I really need all these parts? I want it to be reliable, but I see all you guys running 250whp on stock ls motors. When I rebuild it, most likely will need to replace pistons, rods and cams won't I? I guess I'm just looking for some more advice on what I need to build my motor for it to be reliable, but not go over 4g's. I don't have any idea of what turbo setup I want, I just want to figure out my internals first. Thanks in advance.

Old 11-25-2007, 06:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: Help me figure out my LS Turbo (alexm)

well depending on the condition of the block, you might just need a rehone so u can get 81mm pistons. go up to 81.5 on stock sleeves.

any compression between 9-10:1 works, maybe start at 9:1 which will allow for the head/block to get decked and not gain too much compression.

the eagles should come with arp rodbolts. use oem bearings/gaskets/seals if possible. dont have to polish the crank especially if its got no scoring.