Notices

H22a build for lots o powaaaa

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2012, 08:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default H22a build for lots o powaaaa

Hey guys this is my first attempt of making a "build" thread, take it easy on me I have been here forever but dont post awhole lot anymore....so a lil background.

The car is a 94 honda civic ex, I have actually had the car since I was 15, Im now 25 years young.

Its been through many phases but I cant gt my hands off the h/f phase so im finally gonna go big with it!

So the last engine in the car was actually a f20b, before that engine I had a h22a (that lost a brand new gates waterpump at 10k miles and broke timing belt), so I figured i wanted to try the f20b out for size.

I loved the f20b as a engine it was robust kinda like an actual beefy b16a haha.

Anyways me and my bro decided to turbo it heres the breakdown on what we used.

stock f20b from head to pan
m2b4 transmission rebuilt with carbon synchros and new hubs stock ratios
and I adapted the hybrid racing shifter box and shifter cables(smoothest shifting honda i have ever felt)

skunk2 IM
lovefab ramhorn manifold
44mm tial WG
hx35 turbo
3" dp to 3" exhaust
we fabbed the IC piping DP and Exhaust with the help of our friend who is the man at tig welding
aem v2
k series coils
id1000 injectors 255 pump
aem epm(more on this later)

street tuned it ourselves

So we ran the f20b at about 9psi (not nearly enough for this turbo) the whole time it was running, all we have locally is an 1/8th mile track which for about two months straight we drove it there (40min drive) every weekend best time we managed if i remember correctly was a 8.7ish @ 94ish mph (no traction street tires blah blah blah)

We had some drive ability issues so we opted to pick up the aem epm, while installing it we didn't realize how installed it would effect your ignition pick ups in the aemtuner, we got three varily huge backfires before figuring it out.