Notices

H22 Powered Offroader - More torque required...

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2013, 02:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon7 H22 Powered Offroader - More torque required...

Hi there all.

I have a H22 (5th gen auto) powered offroader which I've been running for a couple of years now. I'm currently UK trials champion and largely I'm very happy with the Honda running gear. I have two different sized tyres I use, some 32" ones and some 39.5" ones and this is where the problem I have is. With the smaller tyres I have enough power/torque to trial without any real problems. When I have the larger tyres on though I'm struggling for bottom end torque and general pickup due to the longer effective gearing.

I'm looking at several possibilities to try and improve this:
- replacement engine. Space is at a bit of a premium and with the H22 being the 'wrong way round', other engines would be a big job to get in there.
- NOS. Always good fun but it does run out.
- Supercharger. I would love to S/C it but it seems to be an expensive option compared to turbo'ing. I'm open to any suggestions to make this more viable!
- Turbo. Seems to be a relatively good option for cost/performance.

This is 'Screamer':

Ok so I'm not really after peak power. Much of what I do is low speed with short sharp accelleration being key. I'm thinking a setup which offers a quick spool. Space shouldn't be a problem around the exhaust manifold. I don't want to have to split the motor for any internals for now so bolt ons are the way really. Minimal tuning would be good.

Right, some questions:

I'm thinking that a log manifold is probably the easiest for availability in the UK and cost as I'm not after monster power, and it has the shortest runners.