Notices

GT28RS or GT3076? B18c1 91oct No track days, no autocross, and no drag racing;

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2019, 05:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default GT28RS or GT3076? B18c1 91oct No track days, no autocross, and no drag racing;

(I am a total noob at all of this, and it may seem like I want to be spoonfed information, but I honestly just want your opinions.)

I'm currently putting together a parts list for my dream build, and I'm conflicted on what turbo setup I should have. I don't even have the car to make this build a reality, so laugh at me all you want, but I just want to figure out EXACTLY what I want before dumping any money into this project. (I'm a broke college student, so this build will last throughout my entire life.)

Keeping in mind the aspects of performance, reliability, and aesthetic/bling, I've narrowed it down to two choices: the GT28RS or the GT3076R. The majority of threads I find online that reference these turbos are in the context of drag racing and constant dyno runs, but neither of those are what I'm going for. I want a fun daily driver that also kicks *** on the street, with power delivery that's somewhat manageable rather than a ludicrous jump in power while doing pulls. Horsepower? I don't know, anywhere between 276 to 376? I know this isn't how it works, but I would like to shoot for a PSI between 6 and 16 to reach that horsepower range. (Really arbitrary numbers, I know.) No track days, no autocross, and no drag racing; just old school "Fast and Furious" wannabe racer fun. That being said, what would get me closer to such a goal on a fully built B18C1 with 91 pump gas: the GT28 or GT30?
Old 06-27-2019, 06:21 PM
Dee
Honda-Tech Member

Default re: GT28RS or GT3076? B18c1 91oct No track days, no autocross, and no drag racing;