Notices

Fuel management Q: FMU, VAFC, or standalone

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2003, 08:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel management Q: FMU, VAFC, or standalone

OK, I have B17 motor with stock internals and I plan to run a max of 8psi with either a T3 or a 14B turbo. It will be a daily driver running on pump gas of 91-94 octane. I'm still unclear and undecided of which fuel management to use and which component each method consists of, so here is what i know so far (pardon me, i'm a turbo noob and this is my first post, but honda-tech seems like a welath of knowledge)

1. FMU and check valves or missing link
- this method i have heard over and over that it's not good cuz you run way too rich, bad mileage, stinky smog coming out of the back, and injectors aren't meant for high pressures of more than 60 psi or something. I don't think i'll be going to use this anyways but some thoughts on it would be nice.

2. VAFC and dsm 450 injectors
- do i still need check valves, FMU,or missing link?
- can i use prelude 310 injectors or anything smaller than dsm 450cc?
how much better is this compared to the FMU and check valves in regards to fuel economy and reliablilty?
- do i need dyno time or wideband like a standalone does or can i tune without these?

3. Standalone
- more accurate and efficient
I will have the money one day and upgrade to this

So basically i'm leaning towards the VAFC hack cuz of of the price, i'm just unclear of what items i need to do this. Ex. Do i need FMU and check valve still or FPR?

my fuel pump will be upgraded or course as it should be with any decent turbo setup

thx in advance !
Old 04-21-2003, 08:32 PM

Default Re: Fuel management Q: FMU, VAFC, or standalone (deebee-II)

On a tight budget do the v-afc hack.
if you can save a little more (not much) go hondata the tunability is great.
Not only will you make more power but it will run a little safe because you can dial in the tuning
Old 04-21-2003, 08:47 PM