Notices

FMU+VAFC = no need for blue box???

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2004, 01:17 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FMU+VAFC = no need for blue box???

Hi, i'm a newb...i just learned from a member that if i were to use a FMU (like vortech) and a VAFC then i could ditch the blue box. Can someone who understands this please explain it to me? I'm new to FI and i'm getting a greddy kit (should be here this week) for my 00 civic si.

Being in Cali...i want my car to be street legal too. Will not running the blue box result in not being street legal anymore? I guess my question is also, do i need a FMU like vortech or no? which set up would be better? Thanks so much!

ps-why doesn't my Pm's work?

-Ray
Old 12-20-2004, 02:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: FMU+VAFC = no need for blue box??? (SiRay6)

forget the fmu, if your not gona use a stand-alone, just use the blue box and the afc. before i bought my hondata, this setup worked quite well for me. still getto though.
Old 12-21-2004, 12:07 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: FMU+VAFC = no need for blue box??? (grndcont)

Hey thanks a lot i appreciate your advice.

-Ray
Old 12-21-2004, 07:18 AM

When I ran the greddy kit, I just used the vafc and the 450cc injectors. You shouldn't need a blue box or fmu.
Old 12-21-2004, 10:23 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: FMU+VAFC = no need for blue box??? (maxspeedhonda)

oh...just by putting in bigger injectors and vafc, you can ditch the blue box? I don't really undertand but if you say so...Are there any other neccessary changes before i can just ditch it? Is it better to not use it than use it. Thanks

-Ray
Old 12-21-2004, 12:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts