Notices

EXACTLY HOW FUNCTIONAL IS RAM AIR? <--- NASA EXPLAINS THE VENOM 600 RAM AIR SCOOP

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2006, 11:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EXACTLY HOW FUNCTIONAL IS RAM AIR? <--- NASA EXPLAINS THE VENOM 600 RAM AIR SCOOP

http://www.viperclub.org/faq/naca.html

TECH: The Viper's NACA scoop
Ever wonder about that cool-looking air intake on the hood ? Did you wonder if it were actually functional? Considering that the Viper is a no-nonsense beast to begin with, you probably have assumed it's not just there for looks alone. But you may be surprised to learn when it actually starts working.

Being an aircraft design engineer, I'm exposed to NACA scoops on a weekly basis. A 747 has five of them (almost as many as a Ferrari F40 :-). Anyway, I wanted to do a quick, simplified analysis of the Viper's NACA scoop, and see how it performs as you go faster.

First, let me explain something called dynamic pressure. This is basically a pressure increase due to going fast. Normal atmospheric pressure is about 14.7 pounds per square inch ( psi ) at sea level. But if you put a scoop in front of the air stream as you go 600 mph at sea level, you'll have not only 14.7 psi of air pressure, but an additional 6.5 psi of effective "boost"! Fifty percent more air pressure means 50% more power.

Don't confuse the air pressure with the volume of air flowing into the scoop. The cubic feet of air per minute (CFM) trying to ram into the scoop depends only the size of the scoop. Working pressure and flow rate aren't the same thing.

To illustrate this dymanic pressure thing, check out the graph below. You can think of it as how much "free" boost you get depending on how fast you're travelling. Sadly, this is not a straight-line relationship. You have to go 225 mph in order to get one measly psi of boost.