Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Forced Induction (https://honda-tech.com/forums/forced-induction-16/)
-   -   D16Z6 turbo build help (https://honda-tech.com/forums/forced-induction-16/d16z6-turbo-build-help-3197830/)

Singlebangin94 03-10-2014 11:39 AM

D16Z6 turbo build help

Welp here we go.
Let me start off by saying I am somewhat new to Honda game. With that being said, any and all advice/opinions given will be taken into consideration. And before you tell me to do research, I have done plenty of it.

Here shortly I will be beginning my own build on a pretty obvious SOHC D16Z6, but will need some help along the lines.

My goals are to run 250-300hp as a daily driver when I do complete the project.
First question is if that is too much for that type of engine to handle as a DD?
And secondly what, and in detail, are the parts that I WILL need for this build?
My plan is to start by going with forged internals; crank, pistons, etc.
I'm wanting to get the most out of my engine without intense wearing of components.

I do unsterstand this is a heavy build, and time consuming at that; I'm looking to do this over months to a years' time.

doctorake 03-10-2014 11:57 AM

Re: D16Z6 turbo build help

Started reading, saw lbs of boost instead of HP goals. You need to research way more. Go to the forced induction FAQs and read them through twice. Assemble a parts list and a budget and go from there.

Wdpfreak145 03-10-2014 12:47 PM

You do need a hp goal number or goal range. The first part for failure is the pistons and rods. You need a boost-oriented rod and a quality piston. I'm doing p2p0 rods and ycp vitara pistons because it's a popular and proven boost combo and is fairly reliable until you start getting into +400hp applications (they say 500+ but let's be real).

KevinEF7 03-10-2014 02:14 PM

You didnt research shlt bud. Stop lying lol. Dont be lazy

Singlebangin94 03-10-2014 03:18 PM