Notices

D16z6 head with y8 block good for boost, or all y8? And other questions

Old 08-24-2013, 11:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D16z6 head with y8 block good for boost, or all y8? And other questions

I'm planning on boosting my civic and I'm just beginning the process. Going for somewhere around the 250-300hp range (I'll be upgrading pistons, rods, fuel system later. Just looking for which motor to start with). I have a few questions related to what motor would be best and if it's a good idea/deal. I've also done a lot of searching already.

I have access to a shop so I can do valve jobs, honing cylinders, cleaning, resurfacing, etc. Plus plenty of time to work.

I have a d16y8 long block with a spun bearing I can pick up for 100. Comes with starter and dizzy, nothing else. Is it worth it? I'm not too familiar with spun bearings yet. I'm worried about the main journals. What is the chance they are damaged? And as for the crank I'll just get a z6 one if needed for better oiling. The car still drove and had about 70% power if that helps. Only drove about 2 miles until motor was swapped out. And I know the oil pump on the y8 is poorly designed, but I've found threads on how to improve the oiling so I'm not worried about that.

Also just picked up a z6 head. I thought maybe I can put it on the y8 block. It uses 9 of the 10 y8 head bolts and 1 z6 bolt (might have that mixed around). Does anyone know if this is safe for boosting? I know it would be safer not to do this but if someone has had experience with this before I'd like to know.

I've also read the z6 has better high end power due to air flow. And the y8 head seems to be designed more economically for better low end power. This will be my DD, not a track car, so I'm not sure which I'd rather use here. Any advice? And since I have a 93 civic it would make it easier to use the z6 but it's not a big deal at all. Mostly just looking for a good cost effective way.