Notices

CRX running way too rich since turbo install

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2007, 02:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CRX running way too rich since turbo install

I recently put a Garrett T-25 on my 1990 CRX HF. I am getting a code 3 (MAP sensor), but I am not getting a check engine light. Will the MAP sensor recognize boost and throw off the A/F ratios? My fuel mileage has gone from 58mpg to 34mpg. I thought that maybe since the MAP seen boost it threw the EUC off. So I ran the #21 hose (MAP senor) to the air intake side of the turbo thinking that it would always see vacuum, but that didnt help and then gave me a code 5. I dont want a lot of horsepower. I really like the 58mpg. I realize I may loose some MPG by adding a turbo, but not that bad. I checked all the wiring and tested everything up until the ECU harness. I dont have a test harness to check terminal 11 across 14 to see if the ECU or the MAP is actually bad. Im fairly new to the honda (tuner scene), so please help.
Old 03-12-2007, 03:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: CRX running way too rich since turbo install (hucoreyCRX)

Im confused by your post. You put a 3 bar map sensor on an untuned turbo car? Even if it was tuned and you put a different map sensor on you would need a retune..
Old 03-12-2007, 03:15 PM

Default Re: CRX running way too rich since turbo install (Boostedb20EH2)

What is a 3 bar map sensor? I said I am getting a code 3 from my ECU. Remember, Im a bit new to this stuff. I'm used to old school carb stuff. Thanks for your patience.
Old 03-12-2007, 03:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Oh wow my bad
Are you tuned?
Old 03-12-2007, 03:22 PM

No, not at all. I put the turbo on an all OEM car. I have done nothing to it but the turbo. By the way, when I romp on it, (however much you can romp on an HF,lol), and then go back to normal driving, the car really loads up bad when I come back down to idle. Smoke is bascially pours out of the tailpipe when I am sitting at a stoplight.