Notices

Couple of questions regarding 2000 Si Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2005, 11:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Couple of questions regarding 2000 Si Turbo

Hey guys, I've done some searching around the forums to get some questions answered, and I've answered most of them. A couple of them are still unanswered, though. Bare with me, I'm a bit of a newbie.

I have a 2000 si coupe. I just recieved the turbo kit I ordered, and I'm getting ready to send it in to the shop. To give you some background, my car currently has:

Greddy SP2 Catback Exhaust
Exedy Stage 1 Clutch (Probably going to need something better once I'm turbo)
Fidanza 8.5lb flywheel
generic cold air yadda yadda

I went with the Drag Gen 3 kit. Something not too expensive, but has a quality turbo (Turbonetics t3/t4).

My main question here is tuning. The kit came with the following, in terms of the fuel department:

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">
Drag High pressure/High volume inline fuel pump
Drag Boost dependent FMU fuel regulator
Map sensor bypass valve assembly
</TD></TR></TABLE>

Now, the shop I'm taking it to is a very capable one. Given this setup, how easily tuned is this car? Do I need to, perhaps, go with a Hondata unit before going boost? I will be honest with you. I know very little about tuning, and I'm kind of lost. I don't want the car to run like crap. This is my first turbo car, my previous hondas were both NA and both slow.

Any help is appreciated!
Old 12-02-2005, 11:53 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Couple of questions regarding 2000 Si Turbo (Castor)

go with hondata/uberdata/crome/neptune
walbro 255 pump
bigger injectors. probably 440 would be good for you.
Old 12-02-2005, 11:55 AM

Default Re: Couple of questions regarding 2000 Si Turbo (kyden)

Is that all that is required to tune with hondata? The extra fuel flow capability?