Notices

Connecting air filter to elbow/bend and turbo inlet

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2012, 01:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 Connecting air filter to elbow/bend and turbo inlet

Hi, my turbo inlet is 3" wide and I got a 3" wide 45 degree bend piece to connect to that and a 3" wide at the bottom opening air filter so as to avoid hitting something straight ahead in my enginebay.

I have ran into a problem when I go to use the clamps to clamp the air filter onto either end of the 3" wide length of 45 degree bent tubing and the other tubing end with the turbo inlet. I get the feeling that when connecting an air filter to tubing or tubing to an inlet that I should have gotten something half an inch smaller or larger so that the ends fit into the other ends and then can be clamped over that area where they are connected/overlap.

A much simpler way of explaining my problem can be demonstrated by you imagining me attaching a 3" wide piece of tubing as my short ram intake tubing to a 3" wide inlet air filter. I assumed it was smart to match all my piping and inlets to be the same size, but now I feel putting a clamp over the small area that the clamp can overlap on to equally wide pieces is less secure then placing a smaller end into a larger end and then clamping over that overlapping area.

My situation in pictures:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/98integ...57632005322896

I hope I didn't lose anyone. This is something that everyone out there has surely ran into and understands what to do and can hopefully shed some light on my n00b ***.

Thanks guys I appreciate you taking the time to help me with my simple issue.
Old 12-07-2012, 01:16 PM

Received 234 Likes on 209 Posts
Default Re: Connecting air filter to elbow/bend and turbo inlet

I think you're referring to the inner diameter vs. outer diameter, right? You're having issues as to whether one fits with the other?
Old 12-07-2012, 01:49 PM
Who is Mr Robot?

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts