Notices

Civic D16 SOHC Turbo Build (Pics)

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2013, 05:57 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 Civic D16 SOHC Turbo Build (Pics)

Hello everyone! I'm looking for some pointers on certain tecnical things building this engine. I rebuilt a few V8s and squeezed 260+ hp out my 3cyl SC seadoo vtec engine but this car is gutless, You have time for tea between gears lol.
It's a 99 Civic DX, It has 150k+ miles but still runs strong (for a stock sohc) and I'm looking for around 300+hp so I'm doing the bottom end too. This is what I have planed but I'm just getting into these turbos and if this car turns out good I'm going to get more and build them the same way and start selling them, Anyway here's my list...

Underlined words are links

First off the turbo kit, Might get a better turbo later...

Connecting rods, Needs measurement first

Pistons, Needs measurement first

Fuel pump

Injectors Not sure what cc I should get.

A p28 ecu, What's the reason I need this? Figure it's one you can tune...

3 bar map sensor

Clutch

Engine mounts

That's all I can think of for right now but feel free to tell me where I'm going wrong

Here's some pics of the car...

I'll start on this project after i get this thing back together, it'll be nice to work with something that every part isn't at least 100lbs lol

Last edited by BigDaddy117; 02-20-2013 at 06:54 PM.
Old 02-21-2013, 02:52 AM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Re: Civic D16 SOHC Turbo Build (Pics)

Originally Posted by BigDaddy117
First off the turbo kit, Might get a better turbo later...but feel free to tell me where I'm going wrong
That right there.
Build is doomed to failure.

Go read the FAQs and build threads fast. Listing parts but don't know what you need? Speaks volumes of how much you need to educate yourself on this topic.
Old 02-21-2013, 03:01 AM
Honda-Tech Member