Notices

can someone please have a look at my setup and offer input/advice.

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2010, 07:39 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default can someone please have a look at my setup and offer input/advice.

Hello and thanks for taking the time to read this post. Please keep in mind i'm a beginner and this is my first turbo build, please forgive my ignorance. I am currently bolting on a 1998 integra LS greddy complete turbo kit with internally w'gated 18G turbo on my D16Z6 along with the provided 310CC injectors..everything fits except the exhaust manifold which i'm currently waiting on which is one from the edelbrock kit thats T25/28 flanged. Because I'm using the integra kit, the blue box is going in the garbage and I will be using a manual boost controller with a VAFC for tuning. I'm only looking to boost between 6-8PSI on stock internals however I will be installing a new timing belt, oil pump, and water pump. A few questions I have are:

Will I need anything else besides the manual boost controller and VAFC in order to make everything run ok? Also will the MBC work properly with an internally gated turbo setup? I know gate is preset from greddy at i believe 5.5psi, so will turning up the boost from an MBC even have an affect on the PSI?

I have my curiousities concerning chipping my ECU and tuning instead of VAFC, but is this something I will be able to do myself? I know a lot of guys over at turbod16.com use the VAFC method with some good results and its not that bad of an idea for a mild street tune. My concern with chipping an ECU is am i somehow capable of hooking up a laptop to the ECU and setting the KPA per RPM like i would with the AFC???

Should i pickup a fuel pressure reg? or FMU? or will i really not need either of these?