Notices

Beginner Turbo Build Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2018, 08:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner Turbo Build Questions

What's up everyone. I have never owned a Honda car (do own a Honda motorcycle) anyways I am not new to cars as a whole but I am new to building a turbo engine. Anyways I am purchasing my first home so will finally have a garage to do work anytime I want and take my time. I want to get a project car to do a turbo build on. Thinking direction of civic coupe or integra as possible starting platforms. My ultimate goal is to hit around 300whp boosted. What engine and turbo setup would you all recommend for ease of build as a beginner in the category while also budget friendly. I'm not trying to cheap out by any means but also not break the bank. So ultimately I am hoping for recommendations to build a reliable basically daily driven once finished that has plenty of power to have fun. Even the platform is up for discussion in regards to year trim and model if anything is a bit easier to work on than others. Sorry for this long winded post but thanks for any insight.
Old 11-14-2018, 09:00 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Beginner Turbo Build Questions

Follow up looking platform suggestion. Need back seats for kids. Easiest engine to build properly on a budget for 300whp. Tranny suggestions. Parts crucial to be upgraded internally. Good companies to go with for parts. I will be at least at first trying my hand at tuning. My goal is to use this project as a complete teaching tool into building and tuning and just fun in general and also as a platform to get my kids into learning about cars like my dad did with me.

I do have a decently extensive knowledge of vehicle workings in general from engine to wiring, internal and external so I'm not a noob by any means. Certified YouTube mechanic. Lol but turbos while I have done lots of research into how they work are still completely new to me.