Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad misfire/headgasket issues on built Y8

Ok, first of all I'll list my set up.

Y8 w/SRP pistons 9 to 1 comp., Eagle rods
ARP head studs, OEM headgasket w/ copper spray
Crower turbo cam, Crower springs/retainers
Edelbrock turbo kit running 13-14psi
P28 ecu

Here is what is going on and I've had this problem before I built the bottom end also. On occasion I will get a bad misfire right around 6k rpm regardless if I'm in boost or not, just rev it up to 6k and the ignition breaks up terribly. It seems as if though I reset the ecu the problem goes away for a month or two and then comes back out of nowhere. I am almost certain it has nothing to do with my tune due to the fact that it will do it under very light throttle. I've been driving my car with the built motor for about 2 or 3 months now and had zero issues with coolant overflowing until last night when that misfire showed up again. I was in full boost and got that misfire and now I'm pushing coolant again. I also noticed a bunch of copper specs on my radiator cap now.

Before the motor was built I blew 2 headgaskets but I figured it was due to running too much timing. I did have this same misfire problem but I would pull the negative battery terminal and clean up the distributor cap and rotor and it would be fine. Now with the built motor I'm pulling out about 1 degree of timing per pound of boost and running high 11's on my wideband. I've used OEM gaskets every time and used copper spray twice. Basically my question is do you think that this bad misfire is blowing my gaskets? I have no idea what exactly is causing the misfire and it seems quite odd that resetting the ecu fixes it and it runs perfectly for a month or two after that.

The ignition is all stock and I'm running Denso Iridium K20 plugs. Anyone have any ideas? Oh and the block was decked and head resurfaced when I built the motor.
Old 05-23-2005, 04:26 PM