Notices

Anyone turbo'd in Cali, help me out please.

Old 07-31-2007, 01:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone turbo'd in Cali, help me out please.

Okay, this is my first time posting in this section, but I've been working on a deal for a Greddy turbo kit. There were some questions I had, since the kit from his car is from a 98 ex, and my car is a 95 with a D15B VTEC, so I called Greddy to see if the kit would still be CARB legal if it were on my car. He asked if it was the new one with the e-manage, or the older one with the FMU, and I said e-manage.

Now comes the real bummer. He says, "The kits that came with the e-manage are not California street-legal. Only the old ones with the FMU are, and they are discontinued."

WTF??? I've built my car around remaining street legal, and modestly turbo'd, and now I figure out that the kit I've been saving for is not CARB legal, even if I got the one that was made specifically for my car?

If anyone has any information about this situation, I appreciate your input.

Oh, and by the way, I now officially hate California.
Old 07-31-2007, 01:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Anyone turbo'd in Cali, help me out please. (BlackoutVTi)

Oh man, I feel for you. City-Speed assured me the kit was legal. It is NOT CARB approved. It WAS CARB approved, before it was rejected in 2003.
I had to pull the kit to smog it. Now the kit is just a few parts left in a custom setup.
CARB
Old 07-31-2007, 01:49 PM

smog it wit out the kit on it first then after smog put it on or just get an illegal one if u have to
Old 07-31-2007, 02:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Anyone turbo'd in Cali, help me out please. (turbo or nothin)