Notices

another victim of white smoke from tailpipe...

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2003, 09:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another victim of white smoke from tailpipe...

i know that white smoke usually means burning coolant/water and the part at fault is usually the headgasket. so i checked the coolant resorvoir for any milky stuff, i also checked the radiator, dipstick and oil filler cap but didn't find any traces of oil.

now, my turbo has a provision for coolant and i'm using it. i'm not an expert on turbo nor the internals of it, but is it possible that the turbo is leaking the coolant to the turbine side thus i'm having white smoke from the tailpipe?

it couldn't be the oil seal right since it's not bluish white or bluish smoke?

Old 05-16-2003, 10:23 PM

Default Re: another victim of white smoke from tailpipe... (_Endless_)

possible that it's the turbo......and since it's white, it shouldn't be oil.....you could drop the down pipe and check in there for any residue
Old 05-19-2003, 10:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: another victim of white smoke from tailpipe... (fizzbob7)

I am getting this white smoke out of my exhaust everyonce in awhile as well(at idle). It is usually after i idle for 5 mins or so. I have checked the Compression(180,175,170,170). I have also checked the radiator and don't seem to have any problems there.. I took off all my turbo piping and there wasn't anything unusual.

Does anyone have any ideas what is going on... BTW- the car seems to be running good.

Sorry, I don't mean to threadjack. I hope we get some answers for both of us.

Thanks- Corey

Edit- At idle, Water/Black spots will come out of my exhaust sometimes at startup. Maybe it is just b/c it is in open loop. But i thought i would add that in.
Old 05-19-2003, 10:50 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: another victim of white smoke from tailpipe... (95c1v1cs1)