Notices

400WHP D16Z6. Questions. Searched FAQ!

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2015, 05:05 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 400WHP D16Z6. Questions. Searched FAQ!

Gentlemen, I have decided to turbocharge a d16z6. I want to achieve at least 400whp. I was looking thru the turbo faqs and found a setup I like. However the description of his modifications were vague in some areas. This setup is by Ar Fab: precision sc32. I tried to find this turbocharger, but I couldn't. Would a 5431e mfs do the job? Also he didn't state trim, ar ratio, or psi he was using. JE/SRP pistons. He didn't specify which exact piston he was using. Maybe dished? The valve train. He just said he used ferrea. Ferrea sell a few different kinds of valves, springs and retainers. He used a tial wastegate and bov. Which size wastegate? 38mm? Which bov?

Also a few more questions. This is a ROUGH idea on how I plan to build this engine. I have never built an engine before however I am very mechanically inclined. I'm going to buy a bare block. I'm going to be sure the deck is square and make sure everything is to spec. Do I need to bore a used block? Can I just hone it and ream the ridges? Once I have the block prepared, I will purchase the crankshaft, thrust bearings, main bearings, and big end bearings. Stock crank, oem or acl bearings. I haven't made up my mind yet on bearings, help me decide. Eagle h beam rods and vitara or je pistons. Like the bearings I haven't decided which piston to choose. Again please help. The cylinder head I will be sure is flat and true. I don't know what all he had done to the cylinder head. I'm hoping maybe someone knows more about it? Cometic hg? Hes using a hondata s200. I don't fully understand the tuning aspect. I need help figuring out the ecu and engine management. He also said he used a stock cam and gear. He dynoed at 407hp and 387tq. ARP hardware all around. Stock sleeves. Of course new gaskets, filters, all those things.