Notices

35mm or 38mm wastegate? Please help

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2005, 09:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 35mm or 38mm wastegate? Please help

Hi guys,

So I just bought my h22 turbo manifold and what was advertised as a 38mm wastegate from SSautochrome (ebay), problem is that they have sent me a 35mm wastegate. Im relatively new to this turbo thang and just wanted to know how that will effect my boosting capabilities? Just wondering whether to kick up a fuss or not...

It fits on the flange fine I just dont wanna be limited to say 10PSI whne I could have something that could offer me 15...I would have thought bigger is better. Please enlighten me?

Thanks in advance
Old 11-10-2005, 10:42 AM

I hope you have researched on boosting H22s. They have a high compression ratio and are prone to detonation issues underboost. I've heard many things about the SSauto wastegates. A Hotrex on HMT had one working perfectly till he was doing something to it and pinched the diaphram and then it spiked on him while driving and blew his engine. He bought another one recently and said it looks of much better quality.

I'm unsure of the 35 & 38mm measurements and boost issues though, I would like to know.
Old 11-10-2005, 11:50 AM

Default Re: (onemanlan)

Yeah I would get a tial... 35mm or 38mm should work fine. SSautochrome sucks period.
Old 11-10-2005, 12:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

The larger gate is less likely to facilitate creep at low boost levels.
Old 11-10-2005, 02:19 PM

get rid of that ****, and buy a tial
Old 11-11-2005, 12:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (VtecAdil)

I'll get a tial

I guess the flange will be the same so no fitment issues?