Notices

***Oil Drain Question***

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2006, 12:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ***Oil Drain Question***

Alright I have been running this oil drain for about three months right now and it is starting to bother me. I pull the intake pipe off my turbo about twice a week and about once a week I see some black residue just inside the housing where the pipe connector connects, before the blades. I wipe the black stuff off, but it is not oily, it is is kind of like a powder. Also there is sometimes a tiny drip of oil on the fitting that goes to the oil pan from the oil drain.

I am not sure what this is, but it is beginning to make me worried about the oil drain. The line was a little long so there are some bend in it before it gets to the pan. It also seems like it may dip a little bit before it enters the pan.

Here are some shots:

Here is the entry to the pan, it is slightly angled downward before the fitting

Here is the angle

Here is the whole line, note the bends

Here is the drip, and the fitting that I would like to remove, cut and put back together

Here is the black sooty stuff from the compressor housing on the right, and right next to it on the left is the oil from the drip.

Oil is really clean, changed 4 days ago, about 200 miles on it.
The black stuff feels almost like its fine dirt particles or something. There is a tiny rip in my air filter.

My question is does this look like bad news for my turbo?
Could it be the culpris behind the residue in the compressor housing?
Is there anyway I can take the fitting off the end of the line, cut the line shorter and reattach the line?

Any responses are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Modified by GS-R Civic at 4:10 PM 4/24/2006
Old 04-24-2006, 12:17 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: ***Oil Drain Question*** (GS-R Civic)