Notices

another honda bearing

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2016, 10:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another honda bearing

Another honda bearing question: engine is done at the machine shop. Im a capable tech, I purchased decent mics, dial bore gauge, snap gauges, plastigauge, etc. I have every intention of following laskeys chart. My question may be stupid or simple but none the less, im gonna ask it:

I get the concept of laskeys measurements, do I have to measure the bores with a bearing installed? Or torque the caps, measure the bore, amd laskeys chart includes the actual thickness of the bearing half?

Just trying to find out if I need to order say 2 green bearings as a median size to get a base measurement off of, or do I do the measurements without any bearings installed. Appreciate the patience, I just want to be 100% sure of every step I take. When I measure everything at work on an engine I generally have new bearings already in hand as a baseline. I do not want to order a bunch of un needed honda bearings.
Old 05-20-2016, 09:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: another honda bearing

I measure with the bearings installed. Rod torqued.
There might be a small mark on the bearing from your your bore gauge but it won't hurt anything.

Measure rods with bearings installed and rods torqued. Measure crank journal diameter. Subtract the difference.

I measured my own bearings and compared them to Earls chart and they were pretty much spot on. You can also get about a half a thousandth (.0005") from a very very light hone on the big end of the rods if you need to go down a size and already have bearings purchased.
Old 05-20-2016, 09:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

If it's a oem bottom end, I'd start with the block and crank/rod codes as a starting point.
Old 05-21-2016, 06:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member