Notices
Classic Hondas All Pre-1988 Hondas.

87 Civic Si Starts but Won't Run

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 05:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 87 Civic Si Starts but Won't Run

So I've got an 87 Civic Si - It starts everytime, idles for a few seconds than dies - when fuel throttle is applied it dies out completly, and I am lost.

I've changed the Air intake temp sensor, fuel filter, fuel pump, battery, dist cap, rotor, plugs - Could this be an alternator problem?
Old 01-23-2010, 05:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 87 Civic Si Starts but Won't Run

WHERE U LOCATED IM A MECHANIC I COULD FIX IT FOR U IF U IN NY
Old 01-23-2010, 06:30 PM

Originally Posted by honda2k9
WHERE U LOCATED IM A MECHANIC I COULD FIX IT FOR U IF U IN NY
You rock - Tyvm, but I am in Oregon. =(
Old 01-23-2010, 09:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

do you have fuel pressure?
Old 01-24-2010, 01:31 AM

Originally Posted by 1grex
do you have fuel pressure?
i do not have a guage... if im not getting fuel pressure would it start everytime continually but than idle out?

Last edited by MFH87CivicSi; 01-24-2010 at 08:17 AM.
Old 01-24-2010, 11:02 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Could be your alternator going out? If your alternator not charging, the car idle really rough, bogging then dies. Bad gas in the tank. Do you check engine light or the pmfi light up? Check the wire plugs that goes into the ecu, sometimes those wires can have bad connection. Good luck..
Old 01-24-2010, 07:55 PM

Originally Posted by 78CITYTURBO
Could be your alternator going out? If your alternator not charging, the car idle really rough, bogging then dies. Bad gas in the tank. Do you check engine light or the pmfi light up? Check the wire plugs that goes into the ecu, sometimes those wires can have bad connection. Good luck..