Classic Hondas All Pre-1988 Hondas.

1983 Civic 1500s

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2012, 11:28 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1983 Civic 1500s

Hey all -

Just got a 1983 Honda Civic 1500s of CL for a steal of a deal. Motor runs great for being an '83 with 230xxx miles on it, and overall decent body condition. I am fairly new to Hondas, especially the older generations, and am hoping I can get some great help here from some experienced people.

What are some things I should be wary of with this specific model? I did some research online and didn't find too many negative things - seems to be a great car from what I understand.

One thing I would like to get fixed ASAP is my dash lights. I am a young man, and travel a lot at night. Currently, I am using a flashlight as my "dash lights," as the actual dash lights are "non-existent." I replaced the fuses, but I'm a little hesitant of ripping apart the dash before I find out some tips/hints.

Looking forward to getting some great, positive responses! Thanks (in advance) for the help, and feel free to inform me of anything that you feel would be needed. (wouldn't mind doing some cool things to the body/interior once I get some more $$$ either).

Cheers!
Old 03-01-2012, 01:23 PM
11:11

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: 1983 Civic 1500s

Originally Posted by YoungBuck
Hey all -

Just got a 1983 Honda Civic 1500s of CL for a steal of a deal. Motor runs great for being an '83 with 230xxx miles on it, and overall decent body condition. I am fairly new to Hondas, especially the older generations, and am hoping I can get some great help here from some experienced people.

What are some things I should be wary of with this specific model? I did some research online and didn't find too many negative things - seems to be a great car from what I understand.