Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

Planning on installing my first alarm

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2009, 12:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Planning on installing my first alarm

Next week im picking up a 95 eg coupe, it has a clifford alarm on it already but its a crappy install just thrown under the dash like usual. Im new to honda's thanks to my friend, but not new to cars. Ive always worked on my cars. but never installed an alarm. I want to install either a compustar, or viper, or i might just re-do the current clifford install but i want to do a stealth install. If its a 2-way i will just keep it and add what i want to it.Now im worried im going to mess something up because ive been reading the stickies at the top of the page and it is ALOT of work especially the stealth install. Ive read that it takes about 2 days probably longer for me because its my first time. If all else fails then ill probably pay someone to do the stealth install for me. Anyone else install thier alarm for the first time? im looking to get some ideas on how hard it was for you first-timers out there.
Old 01-03-2009, 10:22 AM
fcm
Old Fart

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Re: Planning on installing my first alarm

A true stealth install will require a dash pull, anybody that says it can be done without pulling the dash is wrong.
A "semi" stealth install will not require a dash pull but would require removing a lot of trim, including console, dash trim, glove box and instrument cluster and rear seat and side panels if brain installed in read of car.

If you are comfortable working on cars and a cars dash wiring a Honda dash pull is not that bad compared to other cars.