Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Audio / Security / Video (https://honda-tech.com/forums/audio-security-video-27/)
-   -   I wanna put some sound in my car dont know where to start (https://honda-tech.com/forums/audio-security-video-27/i-wanna-put-some-sound-my-car-dont-know-where-start-2734527/)

averyvm 02-26-2010 09:52 AM

I wanna put some sound in my car dont know where to start

Hey Im kinda new to audio world.

I wanna just throw a sub in my car and mount my mid component speakers in a fashion in which I could get the most sound out of them.

But just like everything else there seems to be a science behind everything. It seems like bolting speaker to the door using that stock plastic piece makes the car sound like crap. Ive been looking at other pictures and stuff and looks like maybe its optimum to make your own little speaker mount out of MDF wood. Dont have a saw but is it worth bying one?

mrdeadman 02-26-2010 02:16 PM

Re: I wanna put some sound in my car dont know where to start

Step 1: Buy aftermarket hu. Clarion or alpine will be good.
Step 2: add sub.
Step 3: upgrade speakers and amp them if you like to listen to them really loud. You WILL need to make MDF mounts for the speakers otherwise they will sound like piss (usually).
2 and 3 are pretty interchangeable. If you want more bass, add a sub, if you want louder, clearer sound add speakers first. If you have any blown speakers, I would do speakers first regardless..

wes7side5o 02-26-2010 05:55 PM