Notices
All Motor / Naturally Aspirated No power adders

Suggestions requested: H22 custom rebuild plans

Old 04-01-2018, 04:07 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suggestions requested: H22 custom rebuild plans

So basically I over-revved on the highway recently and did something major to my motor. There’s a ton of pressure in the VC and it taps pretty loud once it’s warmed up. I’m pretty sure it’s block related. So if I’m going to rebuild this motor I wanna build it for power but still be reliable, so I’m looking to stay N/A. I’m looking for advice on what my best options would be. I don’t have a specific hp number but the motor originally did 225/whp after an Evans Tuning tune. So I’m interested in buying or building a custom block to match the head I already have. I’m not looking to spend over $4,000 or so. Here’s my current set up that I’ve been running for 7+ years.

Car
-97 Honda Accord LX
-OBD2-OBD1 Conversion Harness

ECU
-Hondata S300 P28 ECU

Motor
-94 JDM H22a motor
-Stock Block
-Evans Tuning Stage 2 Head w/ 5 Angle Valve Job
-Skunk2 Pro Series Valve Springs
-Skunk2 Titanium Retainers
-Skunk2 Pro Series Valves (Standard size)
-Skunk2 Pro Series Stage 1 Camshafts
-Skunk2 Tuner Series Adjustable Cam Gears
-H23 Manual Tensioner Conversion
-Euro-r Crank Pulley

Exhaust
-Authentic Hytech Tri-Y Header
-2.5” Kteller Exhaust Piping & gutted Tenzo-R catalytic converter
-Hytech twin loop muffler

Air
-Euro-R Intake Manifold with Maxbore to 65mm
-04 S2000 Throttle Body with Maxbore 65mm to 70mm taper (No idle screw)
-3.5" Intake Tubing (The length of a cold air intake)
-3.5" BPI Flowstack
-3.5" K&N Air Filter (Large Cone Style)
-Hondata Intake Manifold Gasket

Ignition
-Optima yellowtop Battery
-NGK OEM Blue Spark Plug Wires
-NGK Iridium Spark Plugs, Part# ZFR6FIX-11

Fuel
-450cc DSM Blue Top Injectors
-Walbro 255lph Fuel Pump
-AEM Fuel Rail
-AEM Adjustable Fuel Pressure Regulator

Transmission
-LSD H22 Transmission
-Exedy stage 1 Clutch