Notices
All Motor / Naturally Aspirated No power adders

How to fix a seized motor (I need help!)

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2010, 07:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to fix a seized motor (I need help!)

I have been working on my all motor build for about 7 years now. The motor has been built and sitting for 7 years. It has Golden Eagle sleeves and Wiseco 13.5 to 1 pistons. I just got back from deployment and I finally got the car together again. I went to turn over the motor, it would not turn. I pulled the plugs and put a little motor oil in the plug holes. I got the motor to break free and it would turn with the starter, but very slowly. I continued to turn it by hand using the crank bolt.

I got up yesterday morning and the motor would not turn by hand. I poured Marvel Mystery oil in the plug holes and 3 cylinders let the oil pass by. One still has not. I tried to turn it again, but now I am concerned for the crank. The crank bolt looks like it has been stressed and I don't want to strip the crank! Tomorrow I plan to loosen the A/C and alternator belts and see if I can get it to turn with a new crank bolt.

Are there any other recommendations to get this motor to turn? Is there another way to turn the motor besides the crank bolt?

I really need help here. This car has been a long standing project for me and I would hate to have to drop the motor and rebuild the bottom end.
Old 04-15-2010, 05:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: How to fix a seized motor (I need help!)

So the Marvel Mystery oil finally made it's way through all 4 cylinders, but I still could not get the motor to budge. I have put a mix of Super Penetrating lube, Marvel Mystery Oil and Seafoam in the spark plug holes. I will let it sit overnight and see if I can make any progress. I did remove the A/C and Alternator belts to help.