All Motor / Naturally Aspirated No power adders

Assistance Needed:B20 VTEC High Compression build - Driver experiences

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2017, 03:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Assistance Needed:B20 VTEC High Compression build - Driver experiences

hey guys, im new to the B series game.
over a year, i was asking if i should throw an sir-g auto trans onto a b20v, but you know what happened

anyway- i bought a b20b high compression, rebuilt block, 12:1 arias pistons, a vtec conversion kit,
and a pr3-3 (89) CRX si head- its got gsc stage 2 cams, aem cam gears, supertech valves, and retainers- stock valves

so-----

im going to be new to manual, and im new to this kind of power- the rebuilt LS trans has a welded dif, too---

i was told that i should avoid putting 12:1 pistons in, from the guy who sold it to me, because he doesnt want me going into a wall.

what do you guys think?
i can get used to driving the car, but i was told if i want them in, the b20 stock rods need to be swapped to run the 12:1 pistons.

this is my daily-
Old 06-06-2017, 03:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default re: Assistance Needed:B20 VTEC High Compression build - Driver experiences

i was also given a set of GSR cams incase i wanted to swap out the GSC stage 2 b16 NA cams
Old 06-06-2017, 05:54 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default re: Assistance Needed:B20 VTEC High Compression build - Driver experiences

Is there e85 available? also, i wouldnt swap the cams to gsr cams thered be no benefit there. I sold my gsc cams to a friend and had them degreed and they are good to say the least. theres been people using aftermarket pistons with oem rods. take the car to a reputable tuner before beating on it. the LS trans will have very long gears so they may not be optimal but i dont know what gear ratios you like. hope you work it all out and have fun man!
Old 06-08-2017, 07:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 442 Likes on 384 Posts