Notices
Acura TL, RL & ZDX Includes Legend, Vigor and 2001 - 2003 Acura CL

Honda fluids

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2014, 07:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honda fluids

I'm totally new to this, so if I'm not doing/asking properly, someone please set me straight.
My question is is it ok/advisable to use fluids other than those from Honda. For instance, VTM -4 differential fluid. I haven't priced this yet, but if it is substantially higher cost than one from an auto parts store, made by a company I recognize, should I still buy the Honda product? Obviously Honda's product would be made by another company, but would/could Honda have set different, maybe better specs? Same question regards anti-freeze, brake fluid (synthetic ok?), transmission fluid, etc.
Thanks
Old 08-03-2014, 11:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Honda fluids

Always recommended to use honda products on a daily driven car. Anti freeze shouldnt be that big of an issue, I dont use the ones with rust inhibitors. Since are engines are aluminum.

Put it this way how often are you going to be changing your diff fluids? I meen regular maintenance wise every 30k or so.. Thats like two years for some people. Dont be cheap buy honda I personally only use honda genuine or ams oil products in my car.

Brake fluid wise check what kind your vehicle needs. An buy whatever one best suites you, Its not an issue. Unless your racing you will need a higher temp resistant fluid..

Transmission fluid is your car manual or automatic? Automatic- I would def recommend using honda. Manual- i use honda mtf or ams oil synchromesh. Hope this helps.
Old 08-09-2014, 02:24 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Amsoil automatic trans fluid
Old 08-09-2014, 03:09 AM
longest project ever

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by spoolymcgee