The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread... - Page 10 - Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion


Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 Includes DC5 Integra Type R & 5dr Civic hatchback

The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2016, 07:42 AM   #226
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Just purchased a 76mm s90 hopefully this will do the job. I'm going to use my old tps sensor on this bad boy.
Attached Images
 
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 08:03 AM   #227
Honda-Tech Member
 
E V Roller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 55
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Shame to hear you had troubles, look forward to seeing the full potential of your motor.

Best of luck
E V Roller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 04:51 PM   #228
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

I had all kind different problems. Bolts stripping, had to shorten my throttle bracket a couple times, and I had to drill a new hole for the throttle stop. I got it working finally. Needs a alignment and put some more miles on it , so I can get it fully tuned.
Attached Images
       
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 01:55 PM   #229
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Got my alignment done today. Car still having issues with running right. Only thing I think it can be now is the wiring harness, which is a wire worx one. I will change it out in the next couple of days to see.
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 08:31 PM   #230
Honda-Tech Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Hopefully you get it figured out man. I've been following in your footsteps. Have a sidewinder manifold, garret t3/t04e, fmic, wastegate, bov. Just need injectors and a few more things and I'll be boosted!

You've mentioned it briefly in the thread, but what is your suspension set up?
Laytonep3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 02:44 PM   #231
Honda-Tech Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 11
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Amazing. Assuming kids, a very understanding wife, knowledge, patience, money, posting these write ups, and grit....kudos.

I'll just pay someone to do this. And read your thread to experience the build.
jluicifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 12:35 PM   #232
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Hello Everyone,

Little update...

changed out harness and car is still having bog down issues when you give it any throttle. My conclusion here is the tune is bad or needs more adjustment. Been think, I'm a computer major why not just tune it myself. Yupp, wideband came today, tomorrow I'll will be installing it hooking it up to the kpro. Pics and comments to coming soon.

Best,
TurboHatchBnuts
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 01:51 PM   #233
Honda-Tech Member
 
E V Roller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 55
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

You seem to have overcome the challenges so far, best of luck with the tuning bud.
E V Roller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 01:54 PM   #234
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laytonep3 View Post
Hopefully you get it figured out man. I've been following in your footsteps. Have a sidewinder manifold, garret t3/t04e, fmic, wastegate, bov. Just need injectors and a few more things and I'll be boosted!

You've mentioned it briefly in the thread, but what is your suspension set up?

My suspension is Skunk2 pro C with the rear camber kits.
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 12:43 PM   #235
Honda-Tech Member
 
civic2sick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

This is a beautiful build man. If you are in Orlando, come by and I'll detail that car for you and buff out those headlights lol. I might have to ask you some questions in the near future. I'm trying to get my EP3 up and running as well. After seeing all your struggles I realize I'm not in such a bad place with mine lol.
civic2sick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 08:01 AM   #236
Trial User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Default Re: The Official K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

I know it's been 5 years since you postes this, but I'm planing on do a k24a2 swap on my EP3, Bit fue to my budget I can only get The engine and The Kpro forma now.
My question is: "what do I need to get The car running besides The engine and kpro?"
I really need help please! Thanks!
RonSV503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 03:38 AM   #237
Honda-Tech Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Just read the first 78 postings & take notes.This is a very well written thread.It doesn't get more detailed.

If you're on a budget . a dude at ephatch did his k24 swap even using the ep3 IM,OEM ep3 ECU & 5 spd.What these 2 guys didn't mention was hooking up the EXH.manifold(or header) to EXH since the header is 3/4 " higher.That's a minor detail.
SiWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 07:53 AM   #238
Honda-Tech Member
 
E V Roller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 55
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Not meaning to be a thread jacking party pooper, but i think you can only get away with a stock EP3 (PNF) ECU if you are swapping a K24A1, or maybe an 'A4 as they have the same cam setup as the K20A3.
E V Roller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 08:27 AM   #239
Honda-Tech Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Another thing to think about is the clutch/flywheel. In the middle of my swap I realized the stock clutch likely wouldn't hold the torque of the k24a2. Probably a good thing to upgrade since the motor is out anyway, but it was also another $600-700 I hadn't originally budgeted for.
Laytonep3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 08:38 PM   #240
Honda-Tech Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 7
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

I know it's been a while, but was that plm downpipe for the rsx? I can only find the rsx downpipe and can't find any info about fitment in the ep3. I'm sure it will require some exhaust work, but I just wanted to know if it'll fit between the turbo/mani/engine and the firewall
Laytonep3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 07:27 PM   #241
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laytonep3 View Post
I know it's been a while, but was that plm downpipe for the rsx? I can only find the rsx downpipe and can't find any info about fitment in the ep3. I'm sure it will require some exhaust work, but I just wanted to know if it'll fit between the turbo/mani/engine and the firewall
No it won't fit. You will need a custom downpipe for it to work. Hope that helps.
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 09:12 AM   #242
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Hello Everyone,

I had a chance to work on the car some. I changed out the engine harness back to the wireworx one. Hookup the wideband, logged into k pro and seen my injectors were set for 1000cc injectors with the wrong pulse data. Fixed all that to the 1300cc injectors and the right pulse data and started to tune it with the wideband. Got it were I can drive normally down a road with no boost so far. Working better than what the previous tuner did. Here's a link that got me started in tuning in kManager.

Best,
turbohatchBnuts


https://www.youtube.com/attribution_...vx%26index%3D4
Attached Images
 
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 09:18 AM   #243
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

theBay
Attached Images
 
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 09:38 AM   #244
Honda-Tech Member
Thread Starter
 
turbohatchBnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL, usa
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Here's my top section of my downPipe.I know people asked about it before, so here it is.
Attached Images
 
turbohatchBnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 11:21 AM   #245
Honda-Tech Member
 
tony_2018's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Towards nipon
Posts: 9,587
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

Forgot about this thread. Nice work! You back stateside?
tony_2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 04:30 PM   #246
Trial User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Default Re: The Offical K24a2 swapped ep3 thread...

this is the closest thing i have found as a reference with what i want to do with my 08 Civic Si, thank you btw.. So i wanted to throw a k24a2 in my honda but it currently has a k24a4 in it and i believe it may have the frankenstien build or they changed the head or something only because its a little more peppy than the cars it normally comes out of cuz my girl has a 03 accord.. that being said, would that mean i have kpro already? and if i do , does it matter if its that very one or do i need a different one? this is my first engine swap so im still a newbie. to drop that in there i would need what exactly? i would appreciate the help, i need to get a reliable car up and running. thank you
smokeyp97 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
k24a swap morecoffeeplzz Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 0 07-03-2017 07:16 PM
k24a4 in my ep3?? dc5pat Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 2 11-10-2015 03:04 AM
2004 K20a2 EP3 Swap Not turning over SiK_EP3 Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 3 09-11-2015 04:03 PM
K20a2 longblock (no 6speed trans) on a ep3? 05hondacivicep3 Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 7 09-09-2015 09:09 AM
K24A2 (TSX) into EP3 with S/C Lucid Moments Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 27 03-23-2005 09:32 PM


Tags
2006, 2007, acura, civic, ef, ep3, fit, forums, honda, k24a2, mount, oil, prelude, pump, rsx, side, swap, thread, turbo, type

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:45 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: