Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 (https://honda-tech.com/forums/acura-rsx-dc5-honda-civic-ep3-32/)
-   -   K-Series Frankenstein? (https://honda-tech.com/forums/acura-rsx-dc5-honda-civic-ep3-32/k-series-frankenstein-3329912/)

Nate8o8_EP3 11-04-2018 01:06 AM

K-Series Frankenstein?

So I'm on the debate, and I need input on the idea of it. Since I have the K20A3, I wanted to swap out the block with a K24A and I was wondering if I should keep the head from the A3 or if I should just dump the whole thing after I pick up a different head? I originally wasn't gonna go with it, but the idea sounds very appealing. I had originally planned and sticking with the whole A3 and swapping out to Brian Crower Stage 2 Cams and forged pistons and eagle rods then boost. Still unsure what brand on that. Any input would be nice. Please and thank you!

Also, this is my first build so in the process of trial and error with everything you could say. Do I also have to change my harness? And how would I remap my K-Pro?

thisguyaves 11-04-2018 08:13 AM

Re: K-Series Frankenstein?

Dump the whole thing. The A3 has no true vtec on the exhaust lobe. You'd either need to get crazy cams that mimic vtec or just a new head from something like an RSX-S, TSX, 06+ Si... The head vs the cams are about the same price honestly, and the upgraded head will have more future potential. I am personally building a JDM K24A block with a 09 Si K20Z3 head, aiming for 250 hp NA. The only harness changes would be to accomodate different sensors (I think my JDM block uses a different crank sensor) and yes, you will need a new kpro map, but I don't know enough to weigh in on that other than look for a preset that's close to what you build.

tommycrx 11-05-2018 03:44 AM

You can download a base map remotely with laptop and wifi. But what you should really do is get it professionally tuned soon afterwards.