Notices
Acura RSX DC5 & Honda Civic EP3 Includes DC5 Integra Type R & 5dr Civic hatchback

Idle Problemo

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2012, 01:34 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Idle Problemo

Hi, so i know there are a lot of problems on here due to idle problems relating to the IACV - idle air control valve, (im not that good with abbreviations on this subject) and this is my main problem... where is it located on a 7th generation 03 plate S type Vtec Civic engine? ive took it to the garage and told them that it had been stood off the road for 2 months, battery died and when i got it up and running it started to idle between 1k and 3k. I drove it around for a bit took it onto the local dual carriageway to give it a warm up and it seemed fine to drive but not idle. doesnt cut out and its fell from the previous revs to 1k-2.3k max. the garage done some checks on it and even called honda to ask what the problem would be... here is a list of what the garage checked upon, even with myself saying it could be the idle control valve:-
  • Investigate Irratic idling
  • Check Vaccuum Pipes for leaks
  • Scan ECU
  • Strip down and clean Variable Valve Timing Solinoid
  • Strip and clean engine breather filter
  • strip and clean throttle body
  • even got an oil flush just in case of oil filter problems
no my sences tell me ive been taken for a right mug due to my age and this is not the first time ive had a car that had idle problems, i had an Astra that had the same problem, took the IACV out and cleaned it... worked fine after. also an old Dhiatsu same crap diff car (excuse my french)