Notices
Acura Integra Type-R All Integra Type R Discussions

How old are you? Anyone else feel this way?

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2013, 09:10 PM
Painfully Stupid

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How old are you? Anyone else feel this way?

I love my Type R. I saved up delivering Chinese food and pizza throughout high school and flipped a few cars after I graduated and had more time and bought my 2001 ITR for 14.6k off the original owner when I was 19. I'm 24 now and still have the car, rebuilt it, been though hell and back with it and it still looks great and I love driving it.

But I'm just not feeling it anymore, as if I've outgrown it. I'm to the point now where I want to park it and buy a new car to drive to work and class but I simply can't afford two cars. I can't sell it because that just isn't an option. I don't like how I feel driving the car sometimes, an old yellow car with big wing, like I'm 17 and trying to be like Paul Walker. I don't like being constantly seen in it, people trying to race me and assuming that I'm in some 24/7 competition with everyone on the road, when I obey the speed limit and have a stock exhaust.

What I'm looking for here in this thread is, how old were you when you bought your R and how old are you now and have you ever felt the same way I did, or do you? It's a great car and ultimately i don't care what people think about it because I know I like it, but the way i feel picking up a girl in it or driving it to a job interview i could go without. Discuss!
Old 10-28-2013, 09:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: How old are you? Anyone else feel this way?

Well I was 24 before I even got mine (in 2008, about $6.8K in US$). It does seem like I should have grown out of it by now, but I guess having a second old crap car as a daily makes it seem like a bigger deal when I do drive it.
Old 10-28-2013, 10:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member