Notices
Acura Integra Type-R All Integra Type R Discussions

"BRAKE" light is on

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2016, 03:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default "BRAKE" light is on

So today in Northern VA, it got to a high of 20 degrees F. I left work and my "BRAKE" light did not go out. Parking brake was fully released. The light would turn off and on as I was braking. The pedal was nice and firm. So I had been having this situation every winter, and a few months ago, I replaced the styrofoam float that lets the level sensor if the fluid is low. As sure enough as the engine warmed up the "BRAKE" light stayed off, but when I got home I checked the level anyway, and it seemed a bit low. I added more fluid. So I will keep an eye on the level, but I have a feeling my brake master cyl. may need replacing. Is it possible for it to leak within the booster? I took a quick glance and did not see any drips or signs of leaks around the MC or underneath where fluid may drip onto and collect.

Any suggestions as to what to look out for? Is it probably the MC? My R is 18 years old this year and has ~246K on it. This is the original MC still. If it is the MC, should I replace the whole thing or can I just replace a seal?

Thanks in advance!
Old 01-18-2016, 03:52 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: "BRAKE" light is on

IIRC, the MC and Booster can leak into the interior by the pedals. Have you checked that area? Or any leaks at the bleed screws or corrosion at the hard lines?

Does the light only come on after youve used the parking brake?

Heres some MC and Booster checks:

Originally Posted by TypeRod