Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

Burning lots of oil!

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2013, 04:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Burning lots of oil!

Hey Honda-tech, I recently purchased a GSR (B18c1 obd1) powered CRX and realized that I'm losing lots of oil. It burns about a quart every 500 miles the cam seals also leak, but definitely not enough to cause this. upon going on a canyon carving cruise with friends they said a cloud of blue smoke comes out of the exhaust upon moderate to hard acceleration. I'm not sure how many miles are on the swap, but I'm guessing 100k+. I did a compression test, 220 220 210 220. I checked the PCV valve, rattles like it should. It smokes a tiny bit upon first start up, but not a ton. I just want some opinions on whether you think its the oil control rings, valve seals, or???

I'm a full time college student commuting two hours each way and this is my only car. Can't afford to be without it, or to pay for a swap. Please help me with your vast amount of knowledge,
Thanks, Rob.
Old 02-16-2013, 04:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Burning lots of oil!

no need to panic but it sounds like you have blow-by. which means you need a set of rings and might as well do valve stem seals. Although you may have good compression doesn't mean your oil wipe down ring is doing it's job properly. better off to go ahead and throw a set of rings and stem seals in it and replace your leaking seals at the same time
Old 02-16-2013, 05:18 PM
Man U FTW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Rings are probably worn and the spark plug grommets most likely leak (causing the burn on start-up) but I wouldnt worry about it too much. If you have a long weekend, a simple rebuild is quick and easy
Old 02-16-2013, 06:57 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Thanks guys, very knowledgeable and respectful answers as always. With ring replacement does the block have to be honed? Would really like to keep the engine in the car if possible.