Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

is my neibor mechanic trying to hustle me?

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 11:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default is my neibor mechanic trying to hustle me?

I own a stock 1993 acura integra. I have a stock b18a1 engine. Well last week my neibor mechanic decided to check my compression on my motor and I ended up getting 185 across the board. He told me to take it to his house so he could adjust the timing and make it run. Well today he tells me to go to his house for a talk. Next thing I know I see my motor and transmission on the ground with my head all torn apart. He says that my pistons are bad. He says he could get me another longblock for 600 to 650. I'm like Wtf. I asked the guy to make it run not take it apart. So my question is this can my compression be good even if my pistons are bad? To me this makes no sense. Sorry I'm a newbie at the Honda scene. I'm a subaru guy.
Old 09-14-2011, 12:03 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: is my neibor mechanic trying to hustle me?

Subaru. Honda. It's all 4 stroke piston motors. Obviously different layout than a boxer though. But no, I can't see each hole getting an even 185 across if there were piston damage. What was the problem in the first place? Why was he looking at it?

And yes. I'd be right ****ing pissed if that were me
Old 09-14-2011, 12:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

no one should tear down a motor without talking to the owner first. If pistons are bad he should show you and you coulda have taken a picture if he hasnt tampered with them first.

You said make it run, was it not running? What was the issue to begin with...

Unless we were there its a little vague to assume or judge whether he is trying to hustle you or not. Words exchanged can be misconstrued easily.
Old 09-14-2011, 12:45 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts