Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

impact wrench?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2005, 05:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default impact wrench?

I asked my dad for a torque wrench for christmas. Well to make a long story short the idiots at the store told my dad they didnt know what he meant by torque wrench and he ended up buying me a Kobalt electric impact wrench.

I'm a noob wanna be mechanic and I'm just starting to gather the nessecary tools so I dont really have much. How useful is a impact wrench while working on cars?? Is it something I will use alot?? He gave me the reciept so I can take it back and get the torque wrench I wanted plus some other stuff (this impact wrench was alot more than the torque wrench I wanted, so I'll have some extra $ to spend) if I decide to.

Basically I'm not sure how much this tool will get used. Id rather just keep it and buy myself the torque wrench if this is something I will need, but if it wont get used that much Id rather have a nice torque wrench with some other goodies. Should I keep it or return it??
Old 12-27-2005, 05:58 AM

Default Re: impact wrench? (G2DAB18)

the impact wrench is priceless.....wait till you have to remove an axle...you will love your dad for it
Old 12-27-2005, 06:00 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

To remove big bolts like the crank pulley you will need the impact, Personally I have done everything on my car with hand tools, I jsut got a nice impact gun and air compressor.

You are going to get a "clicker" TQ wrench right? not a beam style. A clicker is more accurate, and general go higher in FT/LBS than a beam style.
Old 12-27-2005, 06:01 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: impact wrench? (lVlemphizStylez)

Keep it you could as use it for your lug nuts.

Ali
Old 12-27-2005, 06:03 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: impact wrench? (Racermech)